Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology

AsCNP Lundbeck Science Award

AsCNP will commence its science award sponsored by Lundbeck since 2019. This award includes two winners, namely from the field of clinical and basic research scholars, to recognize their great achievements in neuropsychopharmacology. This prize consists of a monetary award of $5,000 (USD) and an engraved plaque for each winner, to be presented at the biennial congress meeting.

  1. The nominator and nominee should be the member of AsCNP.
  2. Nominator’s letter of recommendation includes a 500-word statement which summarizes the nominee’s current work activity and achievement.
  3. Nominee’s curriculum vitae include a list of publications.
  4. The application will begin from 1st May and ends on 30th June. The results will be announced on 1st August.

2019 Awardee

  • Toshi A. Furukawa, Japan
  • Brian Dean, Australia
For the first Lundbeck Science Award, there are five applicants for clinical and two for basic research field. After the scoring from the Award Committee, we are pleased to announce that Prof Toshi A. Furukawa, M.D., Ph.D. and Prof Brian Dean, Ph.D. have won the first Lundbeck Science Award, for clinical and basic research field, respectively. Dr Furukawa is Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Promotion and Human Behavior, Professor of the Department of Clinical Epidemiology, Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine / School of Public Health, Kyoto, Japan. He has published more than 400 Peer-reviewed original research articles and his major research interest is in the field of mood disorders. Dr Dean is the Head of the Molecular Psychiatry Laboratory, the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health, Parkville, Australia. He has published more than 250 Peer-reviewed original research articles and his major research interest is in the field of molecular abnormalities underpinning the pathophysiology of psychiatric disorders and new drug target of for treatment. Our President Kazutaka Ikeda will invite them to give a special lecture during AsCNP Congress Fukuoka.

Shih-Ku Lin,
Chair, Lundbeck Science Award Committee